How to sell a Disney movie

Jim Hill has an interesting piece on the (not so) effective marketing of Disney films, and how John Lasseter wants to retool it.

As much as I do think that this is nessecary, I’m not so sure Lasseter(creative guru at Pixar) is the one for the job. Pixar, in my personal opinion, never has had good trailers. Great movies, but really bad trailers. Personally, I’d just focus in on the storytelling and let the movies sell themselves as the brand picks up a reputation for quality. (I’d go see a Pixar movie if all they promised me was starting at a solid white screen for two hours.) But first you have to make good movies to begin with.

Leave a Reply

